The Serve:

 

4.C.1. Placement. The serve must clear the net and the non-volley line and land in the opponent’s service court. The serve may land on any service court line except the non-volley line.

 

4.C.2. Interference. If the serve clears the net and the receiver or the receiver’s partner interferes with the flight of the ball on the serve, it is a point for the serving team.

 

Faults:

 

A fault is any action that stops play because of a rule violation. A fault wil be declared for the following:

   7.A. Hitting the ball into the net on the service or any return.

   7.B. Hitting the ball out of bounds.

   7.C. Failure to hit the ball before it bounces twice on the player’s court.

   7.D. Violation of a service rule (See Section 4).

   7.E. A player, player’s clothing, or any part of a player’s paddle touches the net or the net post when the ball is in play.

   7.F. The ball in play strikes a player or anything the player is wearing or carrying. There is one exception to this rule: if the ball strikes the player’s paddle hand below

the wrist, the ball is stil in play. If the ball strikes a player standing out of bounds before a fault has occurred, that player loses the rally. In doubles, if the serve strikes the receiver’s partner, it is a point for the serving team, providing it is not a let serve or a fault serve. This rule also includes balls that appear to be hit out of bounds: during play, if you catch the ball or try to stop it from heading out of bounds, you lose the rally..

 

What's the call?:

 

 Anytime a ball hits a player (NO MATTER WHERE THEY ARE STANDING), the player who got hit loses that point, UNLESS the player who struck the ball hit the ball out of the air while in the kitchen, OR EVEN IF THE HITTER WAS NOT IN THE KITCHEN, BUT HIS MOMENTUM eventually caused them to step into the kitchen. RULE 9C overrides every other fault.

 

 

Serving out of turn:

 

5.B.6. If the ball is served by the wrong team member or from the wrong court, the service is a fault. If the fault was by the first server, then the first service is lost and the correct second server serves from the correct service position. If the fault was by the second server, then it is a sideout. A point made from an incorrect service position or an incorrect server will not be retained unless play has continued and another point has been scored or the opposing team has served.

 

 

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now